Unit 04 Communication through Art and Design

Research

django-unchained-poster-federico-mancosu

Django Unchained Poster Source Date: 04/01/16

This is made up of very basic shapes and only contains a few colours. This makes the design look bold and it doesn’t flood the poster with too much information or detail. The image shows the hero “Django” freeing a slave by shooting his chains off.

gp4

Pulp Fiction Poster Source Date: 04/01/16

This poster has been given an effect to make it look damaged so that the poster looks older than it actually is. The image isn’t actually a scene from the movie but it is more of a concept and it fits well with the story. The gun signifies the violence and shooting in the film as there is a lot of that.

the-hateful-eight-poster

The Hateful Eight Source Date: 04/01/16

Taratino uses a lot of red in his movie posters, probably because his movies contain lots of blood and this is shown by the red in the posters. The eight lines of blood show the eight characters and the greyed out ones show the characters on the poster.

drive-movie-poster-international-01

Drive Poster Source Date: 11/01/16

This composition shows Ryan Gosling, the main character, in front of probably his car. The car seems like it has been photoshopped in some way and there has been some editing to the image in general.

98d3639b_rainbow-six-siege

Rainbow Six Siege Promotion Source Date: 04/01/16

This is a very dramatic composition and sums up the game successfully. The game consists of attackers (on the left) and defenders (on the right). There is a high level of contrast between the two sides of this picture so the picture is very easy to see because it only consists of black and white.

header

Just Cause 3 Promotional Poster Source Date: 04/01/16

This composition captures the action packed nature of the Just Cause 3 gameplay. It also shows the huge scale of the world in game, as you can see the island in the background.

Party-Hard-01 (1)

Party Hard Game Source Date: 11/01/16

This piece of concept art for the game “Party Hard”. This image shows the protagonist wearing the ice hockey mask he wears when he kills people in game.

HotlineMiami_Logo

Hotline Miami Concept Art Source Date: 11/01/16

This composition is very detailed and there is lots of action going on. The character in the centre holding the axe is the character you play as in-game. The image also shows key characters in “Hotline Miami” such as “Biker” (the character in the helmet to the left) and “The Girl” the character in Jacket’s arms.

newart

Nuclear Throne Concept Art Source Date: 11/01/16

This piece of concept art shows all of the playable characters of “Nuclear Throne”. At the start of the game the characters are gathered round a campfire so the embers in this picture represent the embers from the campfire.

ASHENS

Ashens Logo/Icon Source Date: 04/01/16

Like many icons on YouTube, the Ashens icon captures the key features of himself, them being his moustache/beard, his suit and his eyebrows. This also helps the icon being recognised when it has been reduced in size.

a4175300333_10

Death Grips “Guillotine (It Goes Yah)” Source Date: 04/01/16

This picture/screenshot from their music video has a lot of static and distortion added to this image which fits in with the music in the video. MC Ride (the guy in the picture) looks like he’s in immense pain which makes sense in context with the music.

mmfood

MF Doom “Mm Food” Source Date: 04/01/16

This image shows the character of MF Doom in cartoon style drawing/painting. He is shown eating food because all the tracks in the album are about food or are related to food in some way.

maxresdefault

Tyler the Creator “Wolf” Source Date: 04/01/16

This album artwork shows Tyler the Creator and a younger version of Tyler or one of his alter-ego’s in the background holding an inhaler.

3813bcd3d4accb7634eea23a2a7ab190.1000x1000x1

Kendrick Lamar “To Pimp A Butterfly” Source Date: 11/01/16

This is the album artwork from “To Pimp A Butterfly” which shows people taking over the White House and the man in a suit represents the government and those who are in charge.

GI-208-X_1500x300_1024x1024

Tycho “Awake (Deluxe Edition)” Source Date: 11/01/16

This is the album artwork for the album “Awake” by Tycho. The circle represents the sun as it rises or sets. The braille pattern at the bottom is the title of the album so it can be read by those who can’t see.

713WaG+JUDL._SL1500_

Jamie xx “In Colour” Source Date: 11/01/16

This album cover is very minimalistic. Jamie xx uses this rectangle in all of his album artwork and uses it kind of as his logo.

ethan2_1website

Hila Klein “Triggered” Source Date: 11/01/16

This piece depicts YouTube personality Ethan Klein in his signature “Triggered” pose, surrounded by some of his classic phrases such as “Gone Sexual”.

frank_2website

Hila Klein “Do It” Source Date: 11/01/16

This picture shows the struggles of running a YouTube channel and all of the hate comments large YouTubers receive on a daily basis.

82f7d670d17164d76fb34441434ca091

Noel Fielding “Crack Fox” Source Date: 11/01/16

This piece shows the “Crack Fox” from the “Mighty Boosh”. This looks like an early adaptation of the character but the main features are still noticeable.

11-advertising-campaign

Don’t Text and Drive Campaign Source Date: 18/01/16

This campaign shows a representation of what would happen if you text and drive by showing a guy getting punched in the face. The violence they describe is referring to car crashes.

Donate-a-barcode.-Feed-the-hungry-1

Donate a Barcode. Feed the Hungry Source Date: 18/01/16

This piece shows a barcode that is made to look like spaghetti on a fork. This represents that barcodes are seen as food and they are needed for the food banks.

Presentation

https://prezi.com/bsufgidgzkxn/leif-podhajsky/

Subvertising Research

27c4cad9ff503a7d42ffc5e2e55d2402

Source Date: 22/02/16

bwmurderking

Source Date: 22/02/16

58176abeb6ff45217704633d63b5a128

Source Date: 22/02/16

honesty-or-art-2

Source Date: 22/02/16

238222

Source Date: 22/02/16

Shift_Delete_KNike_Crime_1

Source Date: 22/02/16

tesco_lie

Source Date: 22/02/16

Proposal

For my subverting campaign I will be focusing on how large companies will copyright and patent generic terms or vague ideas so they can make large amounts from suing smaller companies or making them pay royalties for using their idea or concept. These larger companies usually have expensive lawyers and a massive legal team to support themselves in court.

I will probably be making a series of images or a comic strip or animation. I am currently undecided on which one of these I will choose.

Specific Research

These are possible images I could incorporate or take influence from in my final piece.

corporate-team

Source Date: 29/02/16

mean-lawyers

Source Date: 29/02/16

online-scheduling_lawyers-legal-advisors

Source Date: 29/02/16

shutterstock_85839559

Source Date: 29/02/16

Development of Idea

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.37.01

Here is the basic idea for my subvertising poster. I will experiment with different design choices to represent the main corporate figure.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.54.02

I took inspiration from the “Mad Men” logo for this design. I decided to go for simple colours to show the faceless corporations.

Mad Men logo

Source Date: 07/03/16

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 14.32.15

I created a broken mesh for roughly half of the corporate figure and I feel this is a interesting look for the corporate figure and could be interpreted as a web of lies or something like that.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 14.37.07

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 13.02.56

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 13.43.57

I am not sure if i should include three silhouettes or just one. I feel it may take away from the focus of the image if there are multiple figures looking towards the corporate figure.

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 13.46.07

I feel this works better for the composition and fits in with the minimalist feel of the piece. The corporate figure represents the large companies that put pressure on smaller companies and put them out of business. The size of the corporate figure also represents the scale of these businesses compared to the small ones. The mesh/web could be portrayed as a web of lies from these big corporations.

Judge with gavel

Source Date: 07/03/16

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 14.33.25

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 14.43.31

This was created by using the pen tool in Adobe Illustrator. I used this tool because its effective at creating smooth lines and outlines rather than using the line tool like in the last composition.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 13.07.47

I decided to add some highlights to the judge’s hammer, however, I feel they disrupt the focus of the composition so I think I will remove them.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 13.43.44

I decided to get rid of the highlights on the hammer and instead add some shading on to the judge’s robe.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 13.56.22

I think the level of detail I’ve added to the robe looks good and I am impressed with how it has turned out.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 14.30.31

For my final piece I decided to go with a text based composition. The text is made up of loads of user icons. These icons represent all of the faceless figures behind businesses.

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 15.53.59

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 16.00.09

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 16.05.43

I think that the first version of this is the most effective and least obstructive to the overall message of the piece.

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 15.53.59

Final Outcome

 

Corporate Figure1

Judge

Business

Self Evaluation

Overall I think this trio of pieces worked well. I aimed to use a different style in each one of them and I feel I achieved that successfully. I also believe I have conveyed the meaning behind each image successfully. If I was to repeat this task again I would have explored these techniques in more detail, I would have gone for a more complex or detailed piece instead of three simple graphics.

Rebranding the Seven Deadly Sins

Research

The “Seven Deadly Sins” are Pride, Envy, Wrath, Gluttony, Lust, Sloth and Greed.

7deadlysins

Source Date: 21/03/16

Here is a representation of the seven deadly sins but use characters from the game “The Binding of Isaac”.

cffc0264f0ad0238b28b684816438737

Source Date: 21/03/16

In this composition they use different faces to represent the different sins. They look like they are trying to look like gargoyles.

8553182680_cbb2a0988a

Source Date: 21/03/16

This image shows the different sins as objects that relate to the sin. For example, the pillow for sloth is used because pillows can represent sleep and laziness.

30339_2_1200px

Source Date: 21/03/16

This piece depicts the devil acting out all of the deadly sins. I like the cartoon/comic strip style of this piece because it adds humour to the composition.

Seven-Deadly-Sins

Source Date: 21/03/16

This is a collection models that have been created to represent the seven deadly sins. I have noticed when looking at most of these pieces that a lot of the characters that represent the sins look ugly or grotesque.

Pride
Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 14.08.15

Source Date: 21/03/16

Pride

Source Date: 21/03/16

Pride is the excessive belief in one’s own ability. Pride is also known as Vanity.

Envy

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 14.03.32

Source Date: 21/03/16

67_expanded_gallery3

Source Date: 21/03/16

Envy is the desire for others’ traits, status, abilities, or situation.

Wrath

wrath

Source Date: 10/04/16

Wrath or anger is manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for fury.

Lust

download

Source Date: 10/04/16

Lust is an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body.

Gluttony

hqdefault

Source Date: 10/04/16

Gluttony is an inordinate desire to consume more than one requires.

Sloth

Print

Source Date: 10/04/16

Sloth is the avoidance of physical or spiritual work.

Greed

greed_is_sin

Source Date: 10/04/16

Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain, ignoring the realm of the spiritual.

Proposal

For this brief the task is to redesign or rebrand the seven deadly sins. I will be rebranding all of seven of these sins and then focusing on the development of one of them. My chosen sin for development is Gluttony. For this development of gluttony I’m thinking about making some sort of collection of food or video compilation of people eating food. Another idea is that I could make a couple illustrations displaying gluttony.

For the rest of the sins I think I will make an illustration each. I think it will be a symbolic or simple illustration and I will probably use Illustrator to create these images.

My target audience for this project will be for teenagers to adults. I will achieve this by adding humour to my pieces yet keeping them simple and easy to understand.

Ideas Generation

Sloth

IMG_0005

For sloth I decided to theme it around sleep and laziness. Here are a few sketches I put together of some basic ideas and concepts.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 14.33.45

Here is the process of constructing this composition.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 14.33.59

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 14.34.15

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 14.34.29

I decided to add the “Z’s” to the people lying down to make it more obvious that they are sleeping.

Greed

£10 note

Source Date: 18/4/16

For greed I think I will be editing the £10 note to make the queen look evil to represent how greed changes people.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 13.33.49

This picture shows the process of recreating the £10 note. I think for all my seven sins I will be using only circles to create my compositions.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 14.03.10

Here is the head of the queen finished.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 14.29.57

Here is the £10 note so far.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 14.38.45

I decided to add text to the note to make it more clear that the sin was greed.

Wrath

For this sin I think I will be incorporating an eye in the design to convey the anger tied to the sin.

Eyes

Here are some quick sketches of a few eyes I could use as a draft. Like the previous pieces I will be using the same technique where I only use perfect circles to create the desired design.

Eyes 2

First I started off by creating the basic shape of the eye with three circles.

Eyes 3

I then made two lines underneath the eyes to add some character to the eye.

Eyes 4

Next I started creating the flames for the fire in the pupil of the eye.

Eyes 5

Next I positioned and scaled the flames so that they fit in the centre of the eye.

Eye Complete

Finally I added colour to all the elements and masked of the flames so that they fit within the eye.

Pride

When thinking of pride I thought of the idea of having loads of motivational quotes so I decided to create a page of text repeating the sentence “I am proud of myself”.

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 13.57.04

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 14.08.28

I then created an generic happy face to represent what you become when pride takes over.

Pride

I then cropped the picture to a smaller size to remove more of the blank space in the composition.

Envy

Businesspeople holding piggybanks.

For envy I think I will be creating something like this where it shows someone being envious of someone else’s possessions.

IMG_0007

Here is a basic sketch of what I was thinking of creating for envy.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 14.03.21

For this piece the green character represents envy since green is the colour that is related to the sin envy. The green character has a lack of money and is envious of the other character. I managed to keep the theme of my compositions which is only using circles to create the piece.

Lust

Skull_illustration_by_yungtyrant

For lust I have desired the dangerous side of the sin so I will be using this skull as a template for my design. I will be making this skull out of hearts in Illustrator.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 13.35.49

First I created the basic heart shape using circles and then I proceeded to cover the skull in them. I had to do this all by hand to make sure they were randomly placed around the skull.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 13.52.57

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 13.59.57

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 14.23.40

Once the skull was covered I changed the hearts to a bright red colour and then put the skull image over the hearts and lowered the opacity to 50% and proceeded to put eye drop the colours onto each individual heart.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 14.40.30

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 14.48.35

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 15.23.33

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 15.40.51

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 15.53.27

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 16.05.03

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 16.42.01

Once I had finished the entire skull I took the image into Photoshop and increased the saturation.

Lust2

Gluttony

For the finally sin that I was picked to develop, gluttony, I decided to do more than just create a short film showing the different sides of the sin. I wanted to show how a simple thing, this being eating, can turn into something that consumes your life and I wanted to also show the grotesque nature of gluttony.

Below is my storyboard for the gluttony video.

IMG_20160606_131327

IMG_20160606_131352

IMG_20160606_131408

IMG_20160606_131419

IMG_0009

I wanted to start of the short in a creative way whilst showing a title. Instead of just adding in a title through digital mediums, I wanted to create the title out of food. I used the snack Twiglets to create the word gluttony as seen in the picture above.

IMG_0010

Here is the selection of food used for filming before the shoot.

IMG_0011

And here is what the food looked like after the shoot.

Whilst editing this short film I decided to add music that was very bouncy and upbeat to contrast the dark themes behind the film. The music choice also contrast quite well with the ending of the short and I decreased the speed of the music at the end to show that everything was falling apart.

I decided not to include many transitions such as cross fades because I felt they are over used in videos and they seem too cliché. Instead for the majority of cuts were left untouched and unedited because I didn’t want to distract from the theme of the composition.

Seven Deadly Sins Evaluation

Overall I think this project went fairly well. I feel my rule where I could I only use circles to create six of the sins (obviously this didn’t apply to the gluttony film) and I felt it added a nice challenge to the task. Being limited to only using circles made a lot of my art seem very symbolic and simple which was the effect I was striving for, so I am glad that worked out as planned. I also stuck to my goal of completing one sin each week after I had completed the research, so I know that I organised my time effectively and efficiently.

I feel I have targeted my specific audience well since I added humour into some of my pieces of my work yet kept the overall message simple.

As for my video about gluttony, I feel that went well and I executed the filming as planned with few retakes of shots. If I was to do the video again I would have found away of recording the sound as the shot was being filmed. This would have allowed me to add sound effects to the film. However, I was unable to this because I didn’t have a portable microphone available and the camera microphone was very poor quality and didn’t pick up much audio so I decided to mute all the audio and add a soundtrack instead.

Leave a Reply

