Unit 02 Materials, Techniques and Processes

Here’s is an animation on how to make an omelette.

Research

Here is the intro Casey Neistat uses before starting his questions and answers section of his vlog. I like the fast paced nature of this intro because a lot of intros you see on YouTube can sometimes be unnecessarily long. The intro also sets the scene very well in a concise manner.

In this video it starts off with a short introduction of who is being interviewed along with some other key information about the individual. I liked the graphics that were used in the introduction. They were very clean and looked professional.

Not all showreels have to be art or film related, this is a showreel of parkour. My only complaint about this is that there is a lot of similar clips which seems to make the showreel too long.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 16.17.38

I think the banner for this tech YouTube channel looks good because it reflects the clean and high quality videos.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 16.20.52

Here is another tech channel that has a similar style when it comes to a channel banner.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 16.22.39

Here is a channel that mainly focuses on animation tutorials. The banner is filled with his own art which gives you a good idea of his style of art from just looking at his banner. When I do a channel banner I may consider adding in some of my own art to show what I am capable of at first glance at the channel.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 16.34.03

Source Date: 11/04/16

Here is someone’s Artstation portfolio. Their banner shows a high resolution render of some of their work. This looks far better than if their banner was a very low resolution image. Below their banner shows small thumbnails of their work that can be clicked on to enlarge the image.

Produce Outcome

Production of YouTube Icon

IMG_0008

I started of with a few sketches of my initials as the logo. I started to like the formation of the logo where the letters were vertical so I decided to develop this.

Youtube Icon

Next I opened a 800px by 800px document in Adobe Illustrator. I began to mess around with the circle tool and rectangle tool until I created the basic shapes to form this icon. I made sure the shapes were centred correctly and aligned to the correct shapes. Next I filled in the colours for each shape and created a light grey background.

I think this process worked well for the logo because it is very minimalistic and stands out. It’s a good idea to keep an icon of this size simple because a lot of the detail will be lost when it is scaled down for use on a phone or tablet.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 16.39.57

Here is what the finished icon looks like on YouTube on a desktop web browser.

Youtube Banner

Youtube

Process of 3D Printing

Here is a Vase I downloaded from here.

First I had to download the file from MyMiniFactory and then bring it to Simplify3D (my slicing program of choice). Once I had brought it into the program I had to make sure all the settings were set correctly. When I was sure I had my desired settings, I sliced the model which converts the model into hundreds of printable layers. After slicing the model, I made sure the printers build plate was clean and then I proceeded to print the model. I also made sure my webcam was setup to record the print as it was printing.

This process has helped me understand the different settings in Simplify3D and made me realise that printing with a bright coloured filament makes the model more visible when filming. Here is a previous time lapse that wasn’t very visible due to black filament.

If I was to create these time lapses again I would have found a way to attach the camera/webcam to the printers build plate for a smoother footage when sped up.

IMG_20160608_184148

For this process I recorded myself creating a 3D model of a sci-fi knife. The video shows how I created the model in the 3D modelling software called Maya. Once the model was completed I sliced the model and then sent the g-code to my 3D printer via usb. The print took about an hour to print but I had to downscale the model to fit the 15cm x 15cm x 15cm build volume. I also had to enable support material on the print to support certain parts of the model, however I had some difficulties removing the support material between the two blades of the knife as shown in the image below. I don’t think this would be a problem if the model was printed to full scale since the gap would be larger.

IMG_20160608_184947

Something I may need to consider when creating more 3D printed models would be making sure the support material can be removed easily. This would be achieved by leaving adequate space around areas that will need support. Also whilst removing the support material I snapped one of the bolts that connected the two blades together. To prevent this from happening I could strengthening weaker areas of the model.

Illustrator

For this project I wanted to mess around with the process of creating symmetrical artwork in Adobe Illustrator. I made the artwork symmetrical by making a pattern within a rectangle which was exactly half the width and half the height of the document. When the pattern was complete I selected it and then duplicated it and then mirrored each section correctly so the piece had two lines of symmetry.

I feel this process will be very useful when trying to make symmetrical images and is very efficient and easy at creating them.

Animation

Here is an example of tweening animation. This process is very effective for making animations quickly compared to stop frame animation because it creates in-between frames between to frames which means you don’t have to create each individual frame. However, sometimes this process can create some weird outcomes since the computer creates the quickest path between the two frames so you usually have to correct it’s mistakes which can be quite time consuming.

Here is an example of the stop frame animation. This process involves taking multiple pictures to make a scene look like it’s in motion. This process can be very time consuming because you have to take a lot of pictures to create an animation. For example to create 10 seconds of animation at 24 frames per second would require 240 pictures (or frames).

Web Design

Here is an example of the technique of scrolling parallax for web design. This technique can add more depth to a website and adds an interactive element to a website. This is example is also responsive so that it scales correctly to any scale.

Leave a Reply

